Thank you for visiting our website and blog! We are new to the paranormal world, but have become avid enthusiasts! It has only been two years since we started watching paranormal shows like Ghost Adventures and Ghost Hunters. We were still, officially, members of a very conservative, authoritarian religion that would have found such an interest abominable. Our religion did not believe in an immortal soul, so any spirit activity was considered demonic and therefore harmful. Psychics, ouija boards, tarot, astrology, seances, etc. were all taboo to the members of this church under threat of expulsion if dabbled in. 

Our faith had been waning for a few years and the pull of the paranormal was so intense we couldn't resist. We spent a year, after leaving our faith, just watching paranormal shows and taking in the evidence and techniques. Part way into this first year, I began studying witchcraft after feeling a lifelong pull to the occult. 


Our first investigation was at an old, forgotten, pioneer cemetery nearby (see Gray Butte Cemetery on Investigation page). I had learned in my studies of the Craft, that the veil between the spirit world and ours is thinnest during Samhain (Halloween), considered New Years Eve to the Witch. So we decided to do our first investigation on the full moon preceding Halloween. Nothing interesting seemed to happen. In fact, the graveyard seemed positively peaceful! We did collect some lone orbs, but weren't too impressed by them.


On Halloween night, we went back out there. This time, I donned my ceremonial robe and did a summoning ritual in the graveyard. Again, we didn't notice anything at the time, but I brought something home with me.


The next day, I awoke in a dark mood. As the day progressed, my mood continued to darken. I even called and bowed out of a tarot class I had been taking for some weeks. I was miserable, unhappy, and life felt hopeless. In talking with some more experienced witches on Facebook, I realized I had made one fatal mistake--I had opened a door with my ritual and neglected to close it. Something had attached to me and followed me home!


I immediately set about burning sage and cleansing my home, then I went outside and thanked whatever spirit had followed me home, acknowledging that I had initiated contact. Then I firmly informed the spirit he (it just felt like a he) needed to return to his place as his presence was not wanted around me or my home.


I felt an immediate lightening of mood. I took a hot bath and meditated--there was no darkness left. 


Since that time, I make it a practice to cleanse before I leave a location. I thank the spirits for allowing me to visit them, but I command them to stay in their place as they are not welcome in mine. I find firmness is really the best policy as I have come to believe they can detect weakness or fear in the same way as most animals can.


So, that is how it all began almost a year ago. We were bit by the bug of investigation that night and are in love with the challenge of the hunt! The great thing about paranormal investigation is that the hunt doesn't end when we leave the site. It continues as we review the evidence for possible EVP's or moving orbs. 


Thanks again for following us on our journey! Please feel free to comment on our observations and evidence.



Leave a Reply.


Content copyright 2012. All rights reserved.